top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Buchman

OUCH!: Muscle Stretches to Alleviate & Prevent Back Pain

Over the last couple of months, I have been practicing significantly more than my normal. Normally, this is indicative of an upcoming gig or event. However, right now, I am practicing quite a bit because I found some new music and have been loving the challenge. Some of it is lightweight playing and more for fun - for example, I discovered a beautiful yet simple arrangement of All I Ask of You from The Phantom of the Opera. It is gorgeous on the harp. Some of the music, however, is much, much more technical, and I have some very bad habits when learning difficult pieces: I hunch over, crane my neck, squint, and twist my torso into shapes I think a contortionist would be jealous of. Hopefully you do not share my bad habits, but if you do, this post is for you!


 

(Disclaimer: These exercises are meant to alleviate pain or build muscle groups used in harping. If doing these exercises causes pain, stop immediately and seek help from a medical professional.)


Whole Body Exercise


Roll to the Floor - I learned this one in a drama class in college but it works wonders for harping too!


Start by standing with your feet shoulder-width apart. Over the course of 20 seconds (count them ... it is a LONG time), you are going to roll your head, neck, and back toward the floor. Start by slowly roll your head forward until your chin touches your chest. Then, let your shoulders fall forward, letting your arms dangle free. Next, begin to roll forward, vertebrae by vertebrae until your hands are brushing the floor (or as close to it as you can get). Try to keep your legs straight in all of this, but if you need to gently bend your knees, do so. Your goal is to stretch all the muscles of your neck and back without injuring yourself. Stay bent forward for 10 full seconds, breathing deeply. Then, reverse the entire exercise - slowly rotating back up starting with your lower back, then your mid-back, then upper-back, then shoulders, and finally the neck. This should again take you a full 20 seconds. Don't rush, and remember to breathe!


Upper Back/Neck/Shoulders Exercises


Souper Fun Stretch - This one I learned from my harp teacher many years ago!





Start by standing with your feet shoulder-width apart. Then, holding a lightweight dumbbell in each hand (or can of soup or beans et cetera), hold the weights behind your head, upside down so that your thumb is toward the ground. Then, slowly straighten your arms as you lift the weights above your head; then, slowly lower them back down to the first position.


Soup Can Hands - Another gem I learned early on as a harpist.


Start by standing with your feet shoulder-width apart. Hold a lightweight dumbbell (or cans) in each hand with your arm fully extended by your sides. Slowly raise your arms straight out from your sides until your weights are at the same height as your shoulder. Then, slowly lower the weights, controlling the speed, until the weights are back in their starting position.


Say Hello to the Wall - This one I learned from some fabulous physical therapists!



Stand in a doorway or near a corner. Put your left hand on the wall so that your upper arm is straight out from your shoulder. Make sure your entire forearm (up to your elbow) is also resting on the wall. Then, lean into the doorway or around the corner to stretch those pectoral muscles. Do this with each arm for both pectoral muscles. Warning: If you're like me, GO GENTLE! This one can hurt if you do it too much!


Leg Exercises


The Aching Achilles - This is an oldie but a goodie!


Start by standing with your feet shoulder-width apart away from a wall. Leaning forward, brace yourself against the wall with your arms, keeping your legs straight. This should stretch the back of your legs, calves, and even your Achilles. This is important for all pedal harpists!


Hand Exercises


Finger Power - I have long been familiar with the idea of stress balls or hand grips to increase hand strength, but these cool things take it to a whole new level!


Full disclaimer, I am an Amazon affiliate, so if you purchase these through these link, I get a small percentage of the sale. However, I own a set of these, and I absolutely love them. I've even shared them with family and friends. Due to the star shape, your fingers easily sit between the points and increases the difficulty.




Well, I hope all of these exercises help you. If you like these and want any other exercises, leave a comment of what areas you would like some tips/stretches for! Until next time, keep on harping!

23 views0 comments
bottom of page