top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Buchman

Travel Musings


As I sit here in the SeaTac airport waiting for my flight to begin boarding, the topic of traveling with a harp has popped into my brain. Now, before delving too deep, I should disclose that I have never traveled internationally with my harps. Across America? Sure, but that is a different ballgame entirely. For now, though, I will share what I have learned about traveling with your lever and/or pedal harps.


To begin, let’s start small with local travel.


Local/Around Town

Depending on the size of your harp, the so-called easiest way of transporting your harp is in a vehicle. The key is to always make sure the harp is in a padded transportation case, on top of something padded, and never resting on its levers or cams. Now, for those of you who want to play either a 22 or 26 string harp and have dreams of backpacking across mountain ranges in hopes of serenading the fauna amongst the flora, all I say more power to you. However, what you need to understand is you will not likely just be toting the weight of the harp, but its stand, music, and more. Still, I know of several harpists who have done this and have not minded the 20+ pound pack. Just be mindful of temperature/weather!



Long-Distance/Cross-Country

On my several long-distance, cross-country hauls, much of the transportation protocols remain the same. For example, you will want to make sure the harp is in its travel case and lying correctly on something cushioned should you encounter some rough roads. However, some other things to consider is temperature/humidity. Safety comes first, so do not hesitate to defrost your windows. However, keep in mind the temperature your harp is used to and try to replicate that as much as you can on your trip. If staying overnight in a hotel, take your baby with you! Also, before traveling, I recommend loosening the strings ever so slightly. You want to keep tension, but even tuning it down a semitone or even a full step can help prevent string breakage.


A Few Other Notes (Get It?)

Temperature: Whether long-distance or not, keep in mind what temperatures you subject your harp to. If possible, try to warm up your car beforehand in the winter and cool it down in the summer. This will help prevent your harp going into shock.


Accessories: Congratulations! You've successfully loaded your harp into your vehicle. You step toward the driver's door only to realize you still need your bench, stand, music, spare strings, harp dolly, and more. The temptation to play Tetris is great - to fit things in the space they best fit. Alas, this may not be the best option. Consider slamming on the brakes, sharp turns, and other hazards of driving. Be sure to strap things down or place them where they will not knock against the harp.


Vehicles: As to what vehicle is best, that is like asking what shoes are the best. I advise you go with the one that fits your harp and leaves you with the most wiggle room and availability for padding your harp. However, the most important feature of a car is the ease in which you can get your precious harp in and out! You are lifting, tipping, and gliding the harp into its place, and this can be tricky if you're trying to avoid a liftgate, wheel wells, and more. Also, does the harp lower down into a sunken floor? I once test drove a hatchback that perfectly fit my pedal harp, but I had to lift the entire harp up before I could slide it out because of a metal latch and its sunken floor. The key is to take your harp with you on your test drives!


For lever harps, your options can vary quite a bit. If you have a smaller lever harp (34 strings or less), you can likely get away with lying it on its back on the backseat of your sedan as I have done. Just be sure to strap your harp down securely when using the back seat. I would, for example, use the seatbelts to prevent it from tipping over. Obviously, however, the larger the harp, the more cargo space needed.



I know, I know. You want to know makes and models of vehicles. Well, having once worked for a car dealership, I can tell you that by the time you finish reading this blog, the vehicle you have your eye set on will likely have a new revision, completely changing its interior dimensions. However, if you are that desperate, here is a partial list of vehicles I know either I or my fellow harpists have used.

  1. Subaru Outback

  2. Toyota Prius (Certain models can fit a pedal harp!), Matrix

  3. Toyota Rav4, Highlander, 4Runner (be careful though - the 4Runner rides rough)

  4. Dodge Caravan

  5. Mazda 3 Hatchback, CX-5, CX-7, CX-9

  6. Honda CRV, Pilot

  7. Nissan Rogue


... and the winner of the "Best Vehicle for Ease of Transporting Large Harps" award goes to ...

the Volkswagen Transporter!



That's right. My father owned one of these when I was growing up, and he said it was, by far, the best vehicle for getting the pedal harp in and out. The height of the seats was just right for leaning the harp before lifting from the base and sliding the harp into it in one swift motion.


Well, my friends, the flight is boarding, so the time has come for me to bid adieu to this topic for now. As always, if you have questions, feel free to reach out, but in the meantime, happy harping!




35 views0 comments
bottom of page